Australian Embassy
Russian Federation
Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan

Ambassador of Australia to the Russian Federation

with non-resident accreditation to the Republics of Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan, the Kyrgyz Republic and Turkmenistan.

HOM John Geering pictureHis Excellency Mr John Geering

John Geering began his appointment as the Australian Ambassador to Russia in November 2023.

Mr Geering is a senior career officer with the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) and was most recently First Assistant Secretary in the Executive Division. He was previously First Assistant Secretary in the Europe and Latin America Division.

Prior to joining DFAT, Mr Geering held a number of senior positions with the Department of Defence and the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet.

Mr Geering holds a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Sydney and a Master’s degree in Strategic Studies and International Relations from the Australian National University.


The website includes information and links aimed at answering most of the commonly-asked questions about Australia, including on visas and immigration; services for Australian citizens living or travelling abroad; Australian culture; business opportunities; international activities and government services.

Whether you are interested in doing business with or investing in Australia, going on holiday, studying or just learning more about our country, we hope you find this site of use.


News, Updates and Events

Follow us on X and Telegram 

Consular Support and Travel Advice

Do not travel to Russia and Belarus due to the security environment and military conflict with Ukraine. If you’re in Russia or Belarus, leave immediately using the limited commercial options available or private means, if it’s safe to do so. Flight availability could change or be disrupted at short notice. The security situation could deteriorate further with little warning. Remain vigilant and avoid any protests or demonstrations. Our ability to provide consular assistance may be limited. For more information, read the travel advice for Russia and Belarus.

More information is available on our Consular Assistance page.

Invasion of Ukraine by Russia

Australia joins our partners in condemning Russia's unprovoked and unjustified invasion of Ukraine.

The invasion is a breach of international law, including the UN Charter, and the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine.

Australia stands in staunch support of Ukrainians together with the international community, including by imposing coordinated sanctions and measures to inflict a cost to those who bear responsibility, and providing humanitarian assistance to support those in greatest need.

Media releases and statements as well as information on sanctions and Australia’s humanitarian assistance can be found here. 

Consular and Passport Updates


If you require urgent consular assistance during business hours (9am - 5pm Monday to Friday), please contact us  on +7 495 956 6070. Contact details of our Honorary Consulates in St Petersburg and Almaty are also available here. Outside business hours, please contact the 24-hour Consular Emergency Centre on +61 2 62613305. Please subscribe for updates and monitor our official travel advice on Smartraveller website.



The Australian Embassy in Moscow can assist Australian citizens with applying for their first Australian passport, renew an expired passport or replace a passport that was lost or stolen.                                                                                                                                                          

There are several lodgment options available to eligible applicants located in Russia, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan or Uzbekistan:

  • Digital upload function on the Australian Passport Office website
  • Mail-in - for passport renewals only
  • In person - by appointment only

Applicants should allow a minimum of six weeks to receive a new passport once payment has been taken.

More information on ldogement options is available on our Passport Services page.



Explore this page for information about notarial services available through the Australian Embassy in Moscow.

To request a notarial service, please email us at [email protected] attaching the scans/photos of the relevant forms and documents for us review.

Please note that Australian Honorary Consuls  delivering consular assistance in St Petersburg and Almaty (Kazakhstan)  are NOT permitted to provide notarial services.


Did you know that…

… Australia is the fourth largest economy in the Asian region and is the 12th largest economy in the world?
… Australian Indigenous art is the oldest ongoing tradition of art in the world?
… English is Australia’s national language but 300+ languages are spoken in Aussie homes?

Click here to learn more about Australian culture, politics, cuisine, economy and life!


Study in Australia
Business Envoy. Insights into the Australian Government\'s trade and investment agenda